RESEARCH / VERSION 1.1 / 16 OCTOBER 2026
Recovery at work: written treatment commitments
What 30 public employer documents put in writing about treatment time and recovery. The sample contains 13 universities, ten NHS bodies, five councils and two other bodies; it is not representative of UK employers.
27 documents describe a treatment-time route. Seven contain express paid treatment/appointment wording; six further records expressly use sick-pay terms. Fourteen identify a route without establishing payment, and three lack an identified treatment-time provision within the examined scope. These categories describe wording, not staff experience or unconditional entitlements.
| Provision | Explicitly identified | Not identified in scope | Not reviewed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Confidentiality | 30 | 0 | 0 |
| Voluntary help-seeking | 29 | 1 | 0 |
| Treatment time | 27 | 3 | 0 |
| Relapse / recurrence | 21 | 8 | 1 |
| Return / rehabilitation | 27 | 3 | 0 |
| Safety / impairment | 29 | 1 | 0 |
| Occupational health | 28 | 2 | 0 |
Conditions are recorded separately. “Explicit” includes conditional provisions; “not identified” is not “never offered”. The seven express-paid passages were rechecked on 16 October; the sick-pay category is a recode of existing evidence descriptions. Other leave terms may exist outside reviewed documents.
New checks identified Hywel Dda V6 and its treatment guidance, resolved Public Health Wales’s lapse diagram and examined Salisbury’s three appendices. Policy currency and implementation remain separate questions.
Read CLA’s proposed model policy
Cite and reuse
Civil Liberties Action (2026). Recovery at work [Dataset]. Version 1.1, 2026-10-16. https://cla-political-finance.copperchime4.chatgpt.site/databases/releases/2026-10-16-v1.1/workplace-research.html
BibTeX RIS Full CSV Full JSON Reproducibility package
For an individual observation, cite its fixed-version record and the original source. Credit original publishers for their figures; CLA supplies the compilation, coding and stated analysis. Reuse terms.
Inspect each employer
| Employer | Treatment pay wording | Document date |
|---|---|---|
| University of Dundee | explicit paid time | 2023-06-01 |
| University of Exeter | not stated | Document date not established |
| Falkirk Council | explicit paid time | Document date not established |
| Rotherham Doncaster and South Humber NHS Foundation Trust | not stated | 2024-02-29 (version 6) |
| Leeds Community Healthcare NHS Trust | not stated | 2026-01-26 |
| Leeds Beckett University | not stated | 2019-12 (V1219) |
| Keele University | not stated | 2023-12-19 (version 1.3) |
| Loughborough University | sick pay terms | Document date not established |
| Oxford Brookes University | explicit paid time | 2010-11 |
| University of Bristol | not stated | Document date not established |
| Louth Town Council | not applicable | 2024-04-30 |
| West Lothian Council | explicit paid time | 2019-04-23 |
| Sharlston Parish Council | sick pay terms | Document date not established |
| Lincolnshire County Council | explicit paid time | Document date not established |
| Tees, Esk and Wear Valleys NHS Foundation Trust | not stated | 2025-07-15 (version 1) |
| Surrey and Borders Partnership NHS Foundation Trust | not stated | 2026-10-07 (version 6.0; approved 2026-08-06) |
| Royal Cornwall Hospitals NHS Trust | sick pay terms | 2025-02 (version 4.0) |
| University of Bath | not applicable | 2024-05-01 |
| University of St Andrews | not stated | 2025-06-02 (version 1.5) |
| University of Glasgow | sick pay terms | 2023-08 |
| Velindre University NHS Trust | explicit paid time | 2024-09-26 (version 4, WF18) |
| Public Health Wales NHS Trust | not stated | 2022-09-06 approved; published 2022-09-12 (version 3, PHW49) |
| Hywel Dda University Health Board | not stated | 2026-05-19 approved; active 2026-09-11 (version 6, policy 283) |
| Aberystwyth University | not stated | 2019-07 last reviewed (version 1.1) |
| Ulster University | sick pay terms | 2014-06-03 last edit; effective 2014-08-01 (version 3.1) |
| Probation Board for Northern Ireland | not stated | 2019-02-22 board approval; implemented 2019-03-01 (version 0.3) |
| Sport Wales | not applicable | Document date not established |
| Cardiff and Vale University Health Board | explicit paid time | 2023-01-18 approved; published 2023-01-31 (version 4, UHB171) |
| Queen Margaret University | sick pay terms | 2017-01 last reviewed; issued 2012-11-30 |
| Salisbury NHS Foundation Trust | not stated | 2021-05 (version 1.2) |